Celebrating learning and achievement

Awards Events

About us

Awards Events

Within Discovery Schools Academy Trust is a huge resource of talent, both within our children and our staff. The Trust organises and hosts an annual awards evening where talent from across our schools is recognised and celebrated. Each school has the opportunity to nominate children and adults in a range of categories, and a panel of expert judges select three short listed candidates who are invited to attend the Discovery Schools Academy Trust "Oscars" night where the winners are announced. It is a very prestigious and glamourous affair which caps off each academic year.  It attracts over 400 parents, children, staff and partners to celebrate our hard work and endeavour.


Many congratulations to all the winners at the 2017 DSAT Awards ceremony! 

It was another spectacular evening for children and their families, staff and the wider community of all the schools in DSAT at our fourth annual School’s Awards Ceremony on Friday 30th June. Around 450 guests gathered at the King Power Stadium, home of Leicester City Football Club, and the host, ‘Action Jackson’, put on an energetic performance to warm up the crowd and convince everyone that they were AMAZING!

We are extremely grateful to our principal sponsor, Proactive AV, as well as all the industry leaders who were involved – 3P Learning, Moir Wade, YMD Boon, Michelmores, MHA Macintyre Hudson, ScholarPack, The Sturgess Motor Group, Rahmqvist UK, Cavalry Design, and Wilton Baking UK - without their generous sponsorship this event simply could not happen.

Each of our sponsors presented awards alongside some very special guests including DSAT Pupil Parliament Prime Minister & Deputy Prime Minister; The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor of Leicester, Councillor Rashmishank Joshi; David Williams, Chair of the DSAT Board of Directors; Jeremy Webster, Deputy Director at Attenborough Arts Centre; Nicola Adcock; Judith Green; colleagues from UNISON; and the former All Blacks and Leicester Tigers Captain Craig Newby who had everyone up on their feet doing the Haka.

Also, thank you to the Headteachers from each of our schools for supporting the event, Braunstone Community Primary School Glee Club who provided entertainment, and the countless people who worked behind the scenes to help make the evening a success. This was a particularly significant occasion as it was also the trust’s 5th birthday and a presentation was made to CEO Paul Stone, whose vision it was to hold these special awards.

Above all we thank and congratulate all our nominees and winners. Discovery Schools Academy Trust is extremely proud of the outstanding talents and achievements of each and every one of them.

We are delighted to share with you a short film capturing this year's event

About us

Awards Evening June 30th 2017


3P Learning Mathletics Maths Magician of the Year: Henry W, Danemill Primary School

3P Learning Spellodrome Wicked Writer of the Year Award: Amy Y, Sileby Redlands Community Primary

Support Staff of the Year Award: Terri Burningham, Farndon Fields Primary School

Artist of the Year Award: Evie P, Kibworth CE Primary School

Most Supportive Governor of the Year Award: Lesley Butcher, Merrydale Junior School

Moir Wade Young Musician of the Year Award: Skye O, Greystoke Primary School

Moir Wade Best Class Mentor of the Year Award: Karin Roberts, Greystoke Primary School

The Sturgess Motor Group Leading Performer of the Year Award: Paris S, Mowmacre Hill Primary School

Michelmores Most Improved Class of the Year Award: Superheroes Class, Farndon Fields Primary School

MHA Macintyre Hudson Community of the Year Award: Rachael Illidge, Braunstone Community Primary School

Most Supportive Parent of the Year Award: Samantha Nicol, Fossebrook Primary School

Wilton Bake Off Challenge 2016/17 Award: Amelie W, Greystoke Primary School

The Jack Adcock Award for Hard Work and Commitment: Jo Andrews, Parkland Primary School

Science & Engineering Award: Lois H, Captain’s Close Primary School

ScholarPack Most Exciting Teaching Innovation Award: Champions Project, Captain’s Close Primary School

Sports Personality of the Year Award: Charlie H, Kibworth CE Primary School

YMD Boon Ltd Best New Teacher Award: Naiomh Campbell, Braunstone Community Primary School

YMD Boon Ltd Team of the Year Award: School Bank, Parkland Primary School

Effective Leadership Award: Paula Hopkins, EPIC

Humanitarian of the Year Award: Isla C, Leighfield Primary School

Proactive AV Adult’s Outstanding Contribution Award: Vikki Chapman, Captain’s Close Primary School

Proactive AV Children’s Outstanding Contribution Award: Josh C, Redlands Community Primary School

The Chairman of the Board Award 2017: Year 6, Woolden Hill Primary School

Follow Us...

Notice: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /var/sites/d/discoveryschoolstrust.org.uk/public_html/modules/mod_customtwitterdisplay/tmpl/default.php on line 13

Copyright Discovery Schools Academy Trust © 2017

Discovery Schools Academies Trust is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales, number 8104111. An exempt charity.