Our Governance Model

Delivering educational excellence

About us

Trust Governance

Good governance is at the heart of delivering educational excellence. The Board of Trustees has defined what ‘governance’ means for the Trust in a Governance Strategy which outlines how governance is structured and organised as part of a whole-system approach to improving standards.

Four-tier structure

The four-tier structure was established following a review of governance arrangements. The revised structure aims to address the key governance challenges faced by the MAT. The strong focus on collaboration within the MAT gives the opportunity to learn and share good practice. The implementation of Cluster Governing Boards allows this to extend to governance facilitating a sharing of effective practice across a group of schools.

The model allows for engagement at different levels of commitment and skill. It aims to encourage and support those in the governance structure with the capacity to bring their expertise to benefit more children, extending the reach of great governors across a wider group of schools.

The governance functions delegated by the Board across the structure are set out in a Scheme of Delegation.
The DSAT governance model identifies four tiers of governance:
About us

Trust Members

Carolyn Lewis
Appointed February 2015Carolyn Lewis

Diocese of Leicester Educational Trust

Robert Woolston
Appointed January 2018Robert Woolston

Kibworth CE Primary School Representative

David Williams
Appointed March 2016David Williams

Chair of the Board of Directors

Celia Varley
Appointed September 2017Celia Varley

Parkland Primary School Representative


David Williams
Appointed 1/3/2016, Term 3 Years, Appointed by the Diocese of Leicester Education TrustDavid Williams

Chair of Trustees

Gary Sims
Appointed 1/3/2016, Term 3 Years, Appointed by the MembersGary Sims
Margaret Spence
Appointed 9/7/2018, Term 3 Years, Appointed by the Diocese of LeicesterMargaret Spence
Paul Stone
Ex-Officio (no voting rights)Paul Stone

CEO & Accounting Officer

Mihir Trivedi
Appointed 8/8/2018, Term 3 Years, Appointed by the MembersMihir Trivedi

Ed Green
Appointed 1/3/2016, Term 3 Years, Appointed by the TrusteesEd Green
Jonathan Parsons
Appointed 1/3/2016, Term 3 Years, Appointed by the MembersJonathan Parsons
Richard Bettsworth
Appointed 6/8/2017, Term 3 Years, Co-opted by the TrusteesRichard Bettsworth

Shane Bray
Appointed 24/10/2017, Term 3 Years, Appointed by the MembersShane Bray


Appointed September 2014, Resigned 7/12/17Kate Foster
Appointed 1st March 2016, Resigned 17/01/2018 Michael McAllister
Appointed 3rd October 2017 2016, Resigned 12/11/2018 Christina Cazalet
Appointed 3rd October 2017, Resigned 11/4/19 Kerrie Heath

Connect with us

Kibworth Grammar School Hall

School Road, Kibworth

Leicestershire LE8 0EW

  • dummy0116 279 3462

  • Monday-Friday: 9am to 5pm

  • Email: info@discoveryschoolstrust.org.uk

  • Twitter:@Discoverytrust


Enter your email and we'll send you more information.

Copyright Discovery Schools Academy Trust © 2017

Discovery Schools Academies Trust is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales, number 8104111. An exempt charity.